mrsr1n1

44:38 | April 1, 2012

Waiting for the race to begin

Thursday, 3/29 I ran my second 5K – the Mercedes Benz Corporate Run. This event had over 5,000 participants. It was held in Downtown Fort Lauderdale, so getting in and out was a little bit of a headache. I used to work there and just during normal business traffic is crazy – add another 5,000 people – well it was just crazy! I was supposed to run with my husband and daughter – but on the way to the race my daughter fell asleep and she just wasn’t up for it after her nap. So I ran alone.

I was at the very end of the pack so for the first 12 minutes I just walked in a mob of people.  After crossing the New River it opened up and I was able to run a little.  I hadn’t even taken my headphones – thinking I would be with my family, but it was still fun listening the race chatter.

Next week I will coordinate with Monica to see when we will do our next 5K.  In the meantime, I will continue to spend more time running outside and using the gym at lunchtime to do cardio.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Goodreads

    Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

    Pinterest

    Follow my Pins

    Join me!

